Good News – Bad News


 

Like all things in life not everything is perfectly good or completely bad. So it is with my Wellness Revolution journey. Lets just jump right in for a review of things since my last post.

 

Good news

This post today is the 100th post I have put up since the inception of this blog. The stat counter at this point puts the historical hits on this site at over 466,000. During its most recent incarnation I am averaging 150-200 hits per day. The purpose of this site has always been partly for my benefit but equally for the benefit of others who share similar struggles with their weight. My sincere hope is that somewhere in those 466,000 + hits some people may have found the site to be somewhat funny, informative and helpful

Bad News

I know that “we all have the same 24 hours in a day” but life has been very, very busy for me as of late and as such I have missed two weeks of posting. As in any life situation you have to make choices as to where to alleviate pressure and free up time and regrettably the posting of this blog has been sacrificed in favor of other life related needs. What I can tell you is that the blog was on vacation but my weight loss efforts were not…

Good News

I have yet to have a week where I haven’t lost weight but two weigh-ins ago I came perilously close with a whopping .2 pound weight loss! I think that a small part of that may have been a natural plateau that can occur during wight loss but the greatest factor was exercise frequency. My nutrition/diet is still spot on and about as perfect as you can get but that week I only worked out once.

Good News

The minimal weight loss week was a kick in the pants to me. I wasn’t happy about it and I resoubled my efforts with the amount of time at the gym and the intensity of what I was doing there. As a result this  weeks results were more than good news- they were great news! For this past week I lost 8.6 pounds for a total of 45 pounds lost in just ten weeks. I broke into the 250’s for the first time in over three years and I am incrredibly motivated to carry on.

As a reminder my motivation for starting this effort was a story in the Nashua Telegrah about a man who lost 100 pounds in six months. He did it thanks to Carolyn Maul and the Wellness Revoluton program at the Nashua Athletic Club. I swear by that program and the abilities of Carolyn Maul.

http://www.nashuaathleticclub.com/8-week-wellness-revolution-program/

http://carolynmaul.com/

I would have never dreamed that I could be on pace to do what that man did in six month but I am. While I don’t imagine that I will match his efforts within that time period I am certain that I will achieve my complete goal regardless of the time that it takes me to finish the journey.

 

 

Last

This

Pounds Lost

Total

% Weight

Week

Week

Week

This Week

Pounds Lost

Loss to Date

1

303

294

9

9

2.97%

2

294

287.2

6.8

15.8

5.37%

3

287.2

284.6

2.6

18.4

6.41%

4

284.6

279.4

5.2

23.6

8.29%

5

279.4

276.8

2.6

26.2

9.38%

6

276.8

272

4.8

31

11.20%

7

272

269.8

2.2

33.2

12.21%

8

269.8

266.8

3

36.2

13.42%

9

266.8

266.6

0.2

36.4

13.64%

10

266.6

258

8.6

45

16.88%

 

Bad News

My wardrobe is a wreck! A problem that I had never imagined was having clothes that are too big. The picture above relates to the reaction that my wife has when looking at some of my clothes. The problem is that I don’t want to spend money on new clothes when I am only about half way to where I need to be. The one specific problem that does need to be addressed relates to a brand new suit that I bought and had tailored just before I started this effort. It was to serve a dual purpose which was for me niece’s wedding at that time and my son’s wedding next month. I have just tried it on and it looks ridiculous now. I have to hope that they can alter it downward substantially or I will need to buy a new suit after just one wearing.

Bad News (actually shameful news)

 

 

The other day at the gym I picked up a 40 pound dumbbell because that’s how much I had lost at that point. I was amazed at how heavy it was and then even more amazed that at that point I had lost that much pure, unadulterated fat! I am even beyond that mark by five pounds now and I must say that my level of weight loss accomplishment is tempered with a great deal of humility and shame.

How could I have let myself get to the point where I had disrespected myself and endangered my health by allowing 100 pounds of fat to attach itself to my body? Yes it happened slowly. Yes it happened over a long period of time. But it still happened and I allowed it to happen. There are no excuses to be had here for no one forced the food into me and no one tied me to a couch!

The BEST NEWS

I have always told others that yesterday does not matter because you can’t change history. All that really matters is what you do with each new day forward for that is what you can change and make a difference in. With that being said I end this 100th post looking forward. Looking forward to appropriate weight, better health and a new beginning. Or more succinctly as Carolyn Maul says it- it’s all about

“Snatching my sexy back!”

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to Good News – Bad News

  1. Jill says:

    Congrats Chet!!! So proud of your weight loss!!! Can’t wait to read this when you achieve your goal!!! Best of luck for the next 10 weeks!!! 🙂

  2. sua ong chua says:

    sua ong chua…

    […]Good News – Bad News « I'm Way 2 Fat[…]…

  3. Anonymous says:

    Awesome work !

  4. Kandis says:

    A fascinating discussion is worth comment. I do believe that you should publish more on this topic, it might not
    be a taboo matter but usually folks don’t talk about such
    subjects. To the next! All the best!!

Leave a comment