Laser Focus


I am a week behind as I did not post last week. Frankly I should have because it was a good week but I just ran out of time and couldn’t get it done.

My theme for this week is focus. More specifically it is “laser focus.” I am currently in a mindset where there is no turning back on this “Wellness Revolution.”  I am seven weeks into the eight week program with Carolyn Maul at the Nashua Athletic Club and the classes have served me well. I have learned that there is more to weight loss than just dieting and exercise. Nutrition is now an integral part of my life and frankly I have no sense of, nor desire to turn back to the old me.

When I went into Wednesday night’s class I was feeling especially confident in how far I have come and more importantly on where I am going! When talking about it with Carolyn she said that she could see a “laser focus” in me now. While she might have been overly kind with her words I don’t think that it’s too far off the mark.

In seven weeks I find myself already one third of the way to my goal- but the reality is that this shouldn’t and isn’t a numbers based effort. If I think of an end mark then that would tempt me to consider that this effort will one day be over. The reality is that it will never be over. Much like an alcoholic who can’t risk a single drink I too must be vigilant about my health and weight for the rest of my life.

Am I proud of how I’ve done so far? Of course I am. Even with how great I feel and my weight loss to date I have simply just gone from being really fat to just fat. I still have to power through the pretty fat, kind of fat and chunky state of life before I get to where I need to be!

So with that I must continue to journey on down this road of change. Unlike Dorothy my road isn’t paved with yellow bricks. My road is paved with nutrition, exercise, lots of sweat and did I mention focus? Laser focus to be exact!

Weekly results:

As I didn’t post last week here are the results for the past two weeks. Two weeks ago I lost 4.8 pounds and this past week I lost 2.2 pounds for a seven week total of 33.2 pounds and 12.21% overall weight loss. As I was looking at this chart I saw a familiar pattern in the numbers. From week two on I have had a big loss week followed by a small loss week for six straight weeks. I’m not sure what to make of that but I am hopeful that if the pattern continues I should have a great week this week.

Also of note is the fact that for the first time in a long time I am in the 260’s, (just barely). If someone had told me seven weeks ago that at 303 pounds I could be where I am already I would have thought them crazy.

Last

This

Pounds Lost

Total

% Weight

Week

Week

Week

This Week

Pounds Lost

Loss to Date

1

303

294

9

9

2.97%

2

294

287.2

6.8

15.8

5.37%

3

287.2

284.6

2.6

18.4

6.41%

4

284.6

279.4

5.2

23.6

8.29%

5

279.4

276.8

2.6

26.2

9.38%

6

276.8

272

4.8

31

11.20%

7

272

269.8

2.2

33.2

12.21%

One Response to Laser Focus

  1. Awesome ! I can’t wait for us to go fishing in a canoe……although ….even though you’ll be thinner, there is that coordination issue to address still. LOL..Keep up the great work buddy!

Leave a Reply

