Day 24 – Sleep Deprived


sleep-deprived

Today was the Thursday of my work week as I end my week on Saturday. I only have a four day workweek which is nice but I have to get up every day at 4AM each day. A normal person would go to bed each work night by 8pm but I may be a lot of things but normal isn’t one of them! I’m a card short of a full deck so I tend to only average 5 ½ hours of sleep each night. By the end of the week my “get up and go” has “gotten up and left.”

big-weights-small-kid1

I was able to some lifting with free weights in the garage tonight but I don’t think the effort was as strenuous as I would have liked it to be. I actually missed my walk/running but I want to be careful of too much of that too soon. While my legs and knees haven’t been hurting too much I don’t want to push my luck too quickly. As big as I am I think that the pounding on my knees has made me about an inch shorter already!

I’m not sure what’s going on with my diet intake over the last couple of days because I really haven’t been very hungry during the day. I’ve actually had to force myself to eat as much as I did during the past two days. That’s a problem that I don’t ever recall having before- thus the need for this site!

Jason was wise enough to point out in a comment to my previous post about my recent dietary intake:

“Good job on the exercise. Your protein intake is slacking off though. If you start doing more cardio and don’t add resistance training and/or have enough protein in your diet you risk losing muscle, which is your best friend for burning fat.”

I had to agree that he is indeed correct and I need to watch this. One of the things I had totally forgotten about was making protein shakes. I will now do this again especially after I do the walk/run.

I really, really recommend the GoLean Crunch Cereal that I have been eating. It is especially good if you add some fruit such as bananas, strawberries, blue berries… I find that it is actually quite filling even with smaller sized portions.

4am – GoLean Cereal with blue berries

7am – Red grapes

8:30 – Banana

11:00 – Lunch. Two slices of low sodium deli turkey breast, green grapes and cashews

2:15 – Almonds

6:30 – Red meat day! Beef fajitas with peppers and onions.

As always thanks for checking in on the site. If it wasn’t for the fact that I know so many people are checking on me every day I could be prone to slack- especially on a day like today when I feel like I’ve been rode hard and put away wet!

oldhorse

3 Responses to Day 24 – Sleep Deprived

  1. Queen Donkey says:

    Keeping my eye on you KING!
    Nice work keep it up:)

  2. onemanoneview says:

    Just knowing that the Queen of all Donkeys is watching me is all the incentive that I need! 🙂

  3. Dave says:

    I also love GoLean cereal. Great way to start the day. A hearty bowl of oatmeal with some protein and fruit actually keeps me warm for a few hours (I work in a relatively cool enviroment). And yes, keep making shakes.

Leave a Reply

