Day 18 – I need a push!


50544-04

Ok- here’s the deal… I’m feeling pretty confident about the whole dieting/ healthy eating part of this effort. I’m on track and don’t have a desire to turn back to my old ways. The only problem is that diet alone will not get me to where I need to be. I have to make myself exercise in conjunction with my dieting if I am going to take off the weight that I need to.

man-jumpingrope-c3I hate excuses but I can tell you that it is very difficult for me to motivate myself to exercise on my work days. The job is not physically demanding but the hours are terrible and it is mentally exhausting! Despite those facts the cartoon at the bottom poses the best question as it related to that type of excuse!

Where I have absolutely no excuse for not exercising is Sunday – Tuesday which are my weekly days off. There is no reason beyond laziness as to why I am not working out on those days. At this point I should be exercising at least those three days a week and if I could add just one work day that would be 4 out of 7 days per week that I could exercise.

1525026So this is where I need your help. I need you to hold me accountable for exercising at least on my days off and one other day in the week. One thing that I will not do here is lie to you and tell you I did something that I did not so if I don’t document exercise on the daily posts that means I didn’t do it.  If I don’t follow through with exercise you have my full permission to yell at me, call me names and kick me in my rather large back side!

If you have exercise tips for this big old boy please share them with me. Your dietary advice has helped me greatly and any words of wisdom would likely go a long way as well.

As to my eating today:

4am – 15 grain toast with a thin spread of peanut butter

7am  – Green grapes

9:20am – Apple

12:00 – Two slices of low sodium deli sliced turkey breast, blueberries, strawberries and some cashews. What was interesting about this lunch is that all of these things were in small quantities but I felt exceptionally full after eating them. I don’t know if that was just a fluke or if my body is just retraining itself as to what “full” is.

6pm – oops… don’t think that I ate anything for six hours… my bad! For dinner it was red meat night. I had lean beef fajitas with onions, peppers, lettuce and tomatoes.

Weigh in is coming Tuesday morning and I’m already starting to sweat it.

I hope that all of you are well and I thank you for your continued support.

exercise-cartoon

3 Responses to Day 18 – I need a push!

  1. […] Day 18 – I need a push! « I’m Way 2 Fat […]

  2. Tom says:

    You have many stairs in your house….stairs are a great way to exercise…..start slow and build up. Are the tennis courts ready yet at the Birches? I’d be happy to run you like an old dog!

  3. Suzanne says:

    This is my weak link too!!!

    The trip up and down and up and down and up (huff) and down and up (huff, h …uff hu…fff) the stairs is a great start!

    Each time you Journal, write this as a goal … when you Journal tomorrow, look back and see if it’s checked off. I bet it will be.

Leave a Reply

