Day 7 – Lunch was da bomb!


cartoonbomb-main_full

7:00 – Scrambled egg whites with red and green peppers. Also had two slice of 15 grain toast with a very light spread of Smart Balance.

10:00 – Tangelo

12:00 – A great lunch! Baked chicken pieces, cashews, steamed broccoli, red peppers and green peppers over a bed of brown rice. If you haven’t seen the picture take a look at:

https://imway2fat.wordpress.com/2009/03/03/chicken-brown-rice-cashews-broccoli-red-peppers-green-peppers/

2:00 – A Tangelo and fresh strawberries.

4:00 – Had to sample some almonds while portioning out food into baggies for this coming work week.

6:45 – Red meat for the first time in a week. Not real true to the healthy eating I now prefer but also trying to fit in with regular family meals when I’m not in charge of preparing them. I’m having steak stir fry with Chinese vegetables, (canned – way too much sodium), on a bed of white rice, (I had brown rice earlier when I was cooking).

Thoughts for the day: I survived my days off without much nutritional damage. I lost 11.8 pounds in the first week – not a bad start, (actually it worked out to six days).

As a side note for those of you that don’t know it I have two boys serving in the military. One is currently serving with the Marines in Iraq. Today the NH Union Leader ran a story about him. If you’d like to take a look then here is a link:

http://onemanoneview.wordpress.com/2009/03/03/story-about-janni-in-the-nh-union-leader-march-3-2009/

9 Responses to Day 7 – Lunch was da bomb!

  1. RAD says:

    Great job on your weigh in! Food intake is looking good.
    Frozen veggies are good too and no salt.
    Are you opposed to salad? It doesn’t have to be just lettuce- a salad is basically any veggies mixes to gether- green beans steamed then cooled tossed with lite salad dressing and chicken I hear is good.
    Sauteed zucinni and summer squash in little oil with some walnuts on top is yummy or add some shaved parm cheese 1 ounce.
    Zuccini, summer squash, shredded carrots and mushroom sauteed together with some italian seasonings sprinkled on top is good.add turkey sausage sliced and cooked
    Marinate chicken breasts in lite italian seasons for a day or two and then grill- put in fridge and have with salad or veg for lunch you can make it ahead and it is good all week. or just by perdue italian chicken all ready to grill. market basket has it.
    Low fat turkey sausage or chicken sausage with mixed veggies served with a little pasta is good too.
    Missing something sweet?Try a baked apple or grilled pineapple-
    there are also no sugar puddings and jello in single serves that are great with no fat cool whip.
    Break fast for dinner is also good- try a quiche with out the crust!

  2. Cheryl says:

    Red meat can be incorporated into a healthy lifestyle. Just select the lean cuts. I still eat red meat once a week, typically on Saturday’s when I can clip a juicy lean burger on the grill.

    I have an excellent recipe for high-fiber blueberry muffins, if you’d like the recipe let me know. I usually bake a different type muffin every week and my fiance and I grab them for a fast breakfast before work each morning. Keeps us full for a good 3-4 hours.

    Thanks for link to the story on your son. I was raised in a military family and will enjoy the read tonight when I get home from work.

  3. Jason says:

    I agree with Cheryl on the red meat. No reason why it can’t be part of a regular diet, just keep it lean.

    Chet, I haven’t seen much about lifting weights or doing some kind of cardio. What’s the status here, are you exercising? Congratulations on the weight loss, that’s a boat load for one week.

  4. Dafoe says:

    Cheryl how bout posting that recipe here, i dont know you guys but have been following this blog. Keep up the good work chet, reading this everyday has helped me regain focus on my own weightloss. Thank you Chet

  5. Suzanne says:

    As long as I am mindful of the size of the portion(for me it’s 3 oz.), I eat and love red meat.
    I also like to heat up the kitchen on a cold winter’s night by Roasting my vegetables. Just GOOGLE roasted vegetables. I prepare, put them in a large baggie, then sprinkle on favorite herbs and a little olive oil. Twist and Shake the baggie (not me) then spread on a cookie sheet and off they go into the oven. I just don’t want to get the oil (and garlic smell) on my hands. Depending on the veggies, the roasting time varies.
    See how fast the week is going and you are doing just fine. I knew you would.

  6. Tom says:

    I want some credit. I could have come over yesterday and had Jack ruin your diet……….but I was thoughtful and kind…………as usual.

  7. onemanoneview says:

    Tom,

    I am working on controlling solids right now. I have said nothing of curtailing certain liquids if they help with a persistent cough!

Leave a Reply

