Day 6 – Weigh in tomorrow!


shun-fat-grocery-store1

6:20 AM – Two slices of 15 grain toast with a thin spread of peanut butter.

9:00 Am – Egg whites with red and green peppers. See: https://imway2fat.wordpress.com/2009/03/02/red-peppers-green-peppers-and-egg-whites-mmmm/

12:15 – Whole grain angel hair pasta with steamed broccoli, red peppers, green peppers and a touch of red pasta sauce.

3:00- Green grapes and an apple

5:45 – Grilled chicken with peppers and onions on tortilla wraps.

I found that my challenge today was brought on by it being a day off and being less structured time wise. I found myself wanting to fall back into some of what I call “instinctive eating.” This is where I tend to want to eat because the opportunity simply presents itself. As I’m going about my regular household routine I find myself passing by the refrigerator or pantry and being drawn to grabbing a snack as though I’m Pavlov’s dog responding to a bell!

Two bits of good news about this temptation though- I was only craving the good foods and I didn’t allow myself to fall into that trap.

I’m also a bit nervous about tomorrows weigh-in. I know I will have lost weight but I’m sure it won’t be as much as I’d normally see in the first week. Normally I just starve myself and it looks great in the first weeks weigh-in but eating regularly with healthy foods will force me to keep reminding myself that this is a marathon and not a sprint!

2 Responses to Day 6 – Weigh in tomorrow!

  1. RAD says:

    Yeh, you are doing great! Do you like any fish? Salmon is a bit gamey for me, but white fish is nice and bland- Shrimp and scallops are another ow fat easy prep meals.
    ground turkey or chicken breat meat is good i use it in place of hamburger for a variey of dished such as tacos and enchilatas- use whole wheat wraps and low fat cheddar cheese just a little and you are good.

    A can of rinsed low salt black beans mixed with mexi rice is a complete meal- if you like beans!
    Another breakfast item is 1/2 whole wheat or whole grain bagel with plain low fat cream cheese add 1/2 a grapefruit or orange.
    Fiberone muffin is good for a mid morning snack – make a dozen a head of time eat one with grapes.
    Walnuts are another option for snack.
    1/2 Baked Sweet potatoes with cinnamon (no butter) is another good lunch or dinner option to have.

    Pizza Pita pockets are yummy too 1 large WHole Wheat pita pocket- pizza sauce and low fat mozzera cheese bake in over 350 10 minutes or til cheese melts- add soem turkey peperoni and a small side salad.

  2. lindarhubb@aol.com says:

    What an awesome job Chet!!!!! I am loving watching you really dive into this diet and healthy eating!!!! You are inspiring to us all, esp. here in the Hubbard househod, we are taking baby steps and making progress to eating better and trying to get back into exercise!!!!

Leave a Reply

