Day One Was a Gas!


gas-mask

Day 1

The alarm went off at 4 A.M. and the first thought that came to mind was “what was I thinking?” My choice to make this weight loss effort a public one was wise, if not regrettable, at that particular moment. If I had not chosen to lay it all out for the world to see and hold me accountable for I would not have started today. I would have eaten my pop-tarts or Fruit Loops and spent the rest of the day making all of the same poor dietary choices.

As I now had no choice I went down stairs where I had set up all of my early AM needs for my first protein shake. I used fat free milk, some ice, whey protein powder and a bunch of fresh strawberries. I have to admit it looked and smelled delicious. I also have to admit that the looks and smell were deceiving! While it wasn’t horrible I could never see me ordering a similar concoction when out at a bar! The chalky taste was flushed away with a cough drop afterwards.

To finish out the discussion on the protein shake I would like to delicately address an apparent side affect to drinking it. The night before Tom had told me that when first ingesting whey there may be a certain frequent need to how shall we say… make noise from one’s buttocks after drinking the shake? While in addition to that I found that the shake caused anything that I had ever eaten in the past ten years to decide to evacuate my lower forty for the duration of the morning. As such I have chosen to only partake of such shakes after work hours whereby I only punish my family and surrounding neighborhood as opposed to my place of employment! Hopefully for the sake of our fragile eco-system that side affect will be short lived!

When I got to work I started my multiple feedings as recommended as follows:

5:00 A.M. – I ate a banana

7:00 A.M. – I ate a baggie of green grapes

9:15 A.M. – I had another banana

11:30 A.M – I had a Tangelo

I was scheduled to eat some baby carrots a couple hours later but I totally forgot as I wasn’t hungry!

I got out of work at 3:30 and as soon as I came home I didn’t even go inside but rather I took a brisk two mile walk through the surrounding neighborhoods. Not exactly an Olympic event but I felt it by the time it was over.

For dinner I ate a normal family meal that included a baked chicken breast sprinkled with bread crumbs. There was a side of white rice which I normally drown in butter. Instead I used a light dosing of soy sauce to make it palatable. I know that I added a lot of sodium in place of the butter- not sure if this was a good trade or not. I do know that I need to pick up some low sodium soy sauce for the future. Any other alternatives for the rice?

So- one day into my nightmare! I am curious as to feedback on how I ate today and what I could/should do better.

I am of course thankful for all of your support and feedback in this process!

9 Responses to Day One Was a Gas!

  1. Coffee says:

    try Designer Whey Protein-no bad after taste or the need to run to the bathroom
    very tasty

  2. Suzanne says:

    I have no clue to what you are doing but it does indeed sound very much like a diet and not a simple lifestyle change.

    I now use a natural sweetener, Agave syrup, should I want to sweeten something. It is low glycemic. It doesn’t cause your blood sugar to spike.

    I would substitute brown or wild rice in place of the white rice which is refined. It has a low glycemic index and gives you a full feeling. Like most grains, it will take longer to digest.

    I have learned that I am salt sensitive. Your changing to a low salt soy sauce makes sense. That way you are avoiding the need to take a diuretic.
    Low sodium Soy sauce sounds like a good plan.

    Hey, enjoy the extra “wind” … it will “putt putt” you along on your 2 mile walk (I’m still a couch potato so hearing that you exercised today is an incentive for me to start). I too get embarrassed …due to extra fibre in my diet.

  3. Jason D says:

    LOL about they whey protein experience! I feel your pain. What brand did you buy? Are you normally lactose intolerant?

    I’m proud of your new beginning here Chet, way to go. My only criticism of your diet is the significant lack of protein in your meals. You’re not eating enough in general and you should be adding protein in those other meals. Keeping your protein intake high is important for a number of reasons so if you can find some ways to add it in to your other meals you will benefit. I know it will take some time to figure out how to schedule everything, but I just wanted to nudge you along in that direction.

  4. Rad says:

    Welcome to the ungodly hour of 4 am i am with you there! Excellant job on going for a brisk walk_ every step helps- maybe a pedometer would encoyrage you to see how many steps youtake a day!
    You need more protien- you ate like a girl – as a man you need more protien- For protien shake- lite vanilla soy milk with frozen blueberrys and 2 scoops of vanilla protien powder is very good ( no Ice whip in blender to get rid of lumps form protien powder)- add a slice of whole wheat toast with 1TBS peanutbutter- next meal- apple with a low fat cheese stick -one that is 100 cals or less-another breafast option is 1 cup old fashion oatmeal- make with 1c water – cook -add cinnomin- 2 TBS walnut 2 TBS raisins or dried cranberrys- another breakfats 4 egg whites- scrambled with fresh baby spinach 1/2 c and sprinkling of low fat cheddar cheese add an orange and go.
    Snacks- 1/2 c lowfat yogurt w 1/2 c cottage cheese mixed together is a complete protien and hides the icky cottage cheese!
    Add 20 dry roasted no salt almonds with your grapes
    hard boiled eggs make great quick snacks- don’t salt them.
    Good job but eat more protien or your body will revolt!
    My grampa always said where ever you go let your wind go free for the holding of mine was the killing of me- So let it rip!

  5. Emily says:

    Chet! I’m so proud of you!!! I’ve been doing the protien shakes for over a month now for breakfast and after the gym. I do skim milk with strawberries and bananas for breakfast, and the mix with ice and water after the gym. I can’t say I’ve had the same side effects…maybe it’s the brand you are using. May I suggest one change to your eating? Eat at least 5 times a day, and don’t eat starches after lunch (dinner should be protien and green veggies). This is free advise…I pay for this crap at my gym! Drop soda, and only drink clear “spirits”. Lots of veggies and fish or chicken for lunch and dinner. I’m a steak lover – but you shouldn’t eat it more than twice a week, and never back to back meals or days. I can keep going on forever – I’ve done all the diets. I have lost a total of 60 lbs by doing this, then gained 30 back, but am working out 5 days a week to get that back off. good luck my friend! if i can do it, anyone can!

  6. linda says:

    Day one and you have survived!!!! I am proud of you!!!
    I thoroughly enjoyed your discriptive conversation on the phone earlier today!!1
    It sounds as though you are getting plenty of advise, so I won’t push it with more!!
    You have definitely challanged me, you know that I love my choc., and it shows!! Well, for the Lenten season, I have decided to give it up, and boy will I be a bear!!!! We can comiserate on the daily phone calls. I just completed day on, 46 more days…going all the way to Easter sun.
    Chet, Keep up the good work, you can do it!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Tom says:

    I notice you eat a lot of bananas……need I say more? I think not. Ok, I HAVE to say more! Do something to build a little muscle as well as the more muscle you have the more calories you burn when at rest. And I know you’re a big fan of “at rest”. Do some squats without any weights too as working your legs burns more calories than working your puny arms. Lastly, good job on keeping your pie hole shut!

  8. Cheryl says:

    I’m wondering if you ate enough calories for the day. Sometimes, when drastically reducing calories we see a huge reduction in weight loss for the first two weeks and then we go into a slow mode from then on. You can actually incorporate 3 starchy carbs into your daily plan, i.e., baked potato, rice, pasta. Brown rice and high fiber pasta’s actually the best for a healthy diet. Sweet potatoes too are a great alternative. And may I suggest SmartBalance margarine (lite) to top off those potatoes and rice. It’s made with olive oil, the healthy oil your body needs.

    I would say, all-in-all, you got off to a great start. Keep up the great work and motivation!

  9. Jess says:

    Mr. DuPont! I am on a diet as well!! We can do it together!! haha And as for the rice…I LOVVVE light italian dressing on mine!

Leave a Reply

