I’m Way 2 Fat – Please Help Me Change That


I am not a small man. As an affirmation to that point I have been approached by the United States Postal Service who has offered me my own zip code! When I lay on the beach people throw water on me and the Coast Guard tries to tow me back into the surf! I’m so fat that when I drop something I surrender ownership of it rather than trying to pick it up. I have three kids left that I did not drop! The jokes are endless!

The cold hard facts:

I am 49 years old and indeed I am way too fat. I don’t even know how much I weigh which is likely a bad indicator. Minutes from now I am heading off to Walmart to buy a scale and I will post the hefty results here soon.

I know how to lose weight as I’ve lost hundreds of pounds through the years. All you need to do to lose weight is understand basic math. Subtract and add. Less food plus more exercise = weight loss. Not real rocket science here! The question that begs to be answered here is if it’s so basic why am I still too fat?

I hate Freudian type excuses. Actually I hate excuses of any type for they are just crutches that seek to shore up our reality. Even though I suppose that I am too fat because I choose to be. I choose to take the easiest path and I choose comfort over sacrifice. I have chosen to accept years of public ridicule and mockery by the self righteous over putting in the effort needed to make myself healthy.

My fatness has cause me to be prescribed blood pressure medication and cholesterol medication which for about a year now I have chosen not to take. There are a few reasons for that that I will discuss in a later post for those dumb enough to come back to this lard laden site.

I have a wife and three grown kids that I love dearly. I would love to live long enough to see my grandkids. I want to spoil my grandkids and teach them bad habits which their parents will hate. I would definately be that “pull my finger” kind of grandfather! The reality is that even if I get to say hello to a grandchild or two it will probably just be a short time until I’m straining the back of my pall bearers, (that’s right Tom I’m talking to you)!

A new found motivation for me to get myself on the right track is my daughters fast approaching wedding date of May 24th. I do not want to be wheezing and sweating as I’m handing Nicole off to Marky Mark!  I don’t want to have to pay for extra material for my tux nor do I want the wedding cake to quiver in fear when it sees me!

All joking aside- I both need and am asking for your help. When I kick off this weight loss effort in a day or tow I will start posting to this site every day listing what I ate that day and what I did for exercise. I will also use the daily posting as an opportunity to whine incessantly or brag extensively depending upon my mood swing of the day.

What I ask from all of you is to hold me accountable. Whether I know you or not I ask that you offer suggestions, support, sarcasm, cruel words, constructive words… whatever it may be. To my Christian friends I ask for you to pray that God will give me the strength to change my life in a positive way. If you too struggle with a weight problem please feel free to use this blog as a place where you can talk about that as well. Maybe in a little way this effort may not just help me but others going through a similar type of struggle.

I need to know that if I fail it will be a public failure. I need to fear the public humiliation more than the desire to fill my pie hole with another helping.

So as a starting point- what are your thoughts? Good idea? Bad idea? Do you have other ideas that I can incorporate into my effort with this site?

I plan on starting the actual “new me” effort in a couple of days.  Will you walk with me?

15 Responses to I’m Way 2 Fat – Please Help Me Change That

  1. Tom says:

    But who will check for ice safety now? I think you are too big of a wuss to pull this off. You are going to fill this whole blog up with whining. Here’s my advice on losing weight…….Drink lots of water to feel full, plus peeing is fun especially in the snow……don’t eat fried foods, pastries, or sweets. Eating fruit will satisfy a sweet tooth…especially watermelon…..Cut back on your visits to old no. 7…….Don’t eat 2 hours before bed….eat a smart breakfast everyday to get your metabolism going….and the more you exercise the more you can eat…..after you lose some weight first of course. Thank you immensley for doing this as I have a bad back and carrying a “chet in the box” would be the demise of my ever walking upright again….

  2. Christian says:

    I’m going to regret this but ill diet and give up drinking until the wedding so you have someone to suffer with

  3. onemanoneview says:

    To Tom- I want to lose weight just so you’ll need to come up with new insults! Thanks for the tips with the exception of less visits to the Old no. 7 – I want to lose weight not happiness!

    To Christian- Can the local Fort Bliss economy stand to lose your business? Thanks for your support!

    Any other people want to share in my suffering?

  4. Jason says:

    Hi Chet,

    I’ll do my best to stay in your corner for this. It sounds like you’ve found some good reasons to stay motivated and that’s real important. Although these bodies aren’t our permanent homes, I’ve found that a disciplined diet and exercise plan really does contribute to overall mental and spiritual health too. I have more energy, concentration, and less gravity towards depression when exercising and eating right. But like you said, being there for your family is the noblest goal and I wish you the best.

    I’ve been quite involved in diet and exercise for the past couple of years and will offer what I can for advice and encouragement. I know it’s embarrassing, but one thing you should think about is taking pictures now, and every couple of months for comparison. Sometimes the scale doesn’t tell the whole story. What are you using to determine your meal plan? I think a typical starting point is to shoot for a caloric deficit of 300 calories below maintenance per day with a ratio of 40% protein, 30% carbs, and 30% healthy fats. I’ll be looking forward to finding out more specifics of your exercise and nutrition plan. Take care brother, you’ll be in my prayers.

    Jason D.

  5. linda says:

    Chet,

    You are a determined man, and when, you set your mind to it, watch out world!!!!!
    I too, know what it is to struggle with weight, both personally and family, and I want you to know that I am behind you 100%………….maybe we can all get in on the challenge!!!!!!

  6. Minnette says:

    Good Luck, it’s not an easy battle. An alcoholic or a drug addict, if they quit, they completely quit, they don’t take their drug of choice in moderation. Food unfortunately is a delicious necessary evil. Obviously none of us can completely give it up. You can win the battle, if you backslide, don’t kick yourself in the ass and keep messing up(I already ate a doughnut, might as well eat the rest of the dozen). You can do it. Congratulations on your decision and good luck!

  7. Alexa says:

    Wow…good for you! I wish you all the best on your journey.

  8. Shane says:

    Chet,
    I too have taken the plunge into the dieting/exercising pool only a week ago ,and Ive already doubled my time on the treadmill.It’s really not that bad after you start and it just becomes part of your routine.I’m actually beginning to enjoy it. =D
    Best of luck!

  9. Oliver Dewey says:

    Chet,
    Not easy buddy. It takes a lot of determination. I didn’t need to lose but I put my self on an exercise program to stay in shape because I’m getting older and want to stay mobile. Spend a half hour every morning with 10 of the basic exercises and cut calories especially sweets. Good Luck.

  10. Linda N says:

    Log onto the different sites like Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, etc. You don’t have to actually PURCHASE their services but they give you alot of really great tips on diet, really good recipes, etc. etc. You can also see if your company will PAY for you to join one of these services. I know mine will….

    Good luck….I have to get going on a diet/exercise program too…….

  11. Rad says:

    Food revolves around so much of our lives- you just can’t get away from. Really you have to change your mind about food it’s not this food is good and this is bad- all food was given by God to enjoy- we just usually over indulge-
    Eat often and smaller meals- every 2-3 hours so you don’t get over hungry- go for 200 – 300 cals per mini meal –
    Find an activity you like- start slow- you don’t want to go into cardiac arrest fist day out. Weight lifting and cardio together- cardio to burn and weights to firm.

  12. Cheryl says:

    Food, food food! That’s all we see on TV, hear in commercials, billboards, ads, etc. It’s hard to stay on a healthy living track when we are always presented with temptations. Your beautiful family – it sure sounds like you have a lot to live for. Remember that every time you’re tempted to put something high calorie in your mouth. Although we can eat anything as long as it’s in moderation. I think society has gotten away from true proportion size. Everything has to be super sized now. Eat mini-meals 4-6 times a day that consist of a small amount of protein (size of a deck of cards), a vegetable and a fruit or low-fat dairy product.

  13. Burrito says:

    Two words Xing Wang!!!!!

  14. onemanoneview says:

    Xing Wang has made me what I am- FAT!

  15. Susan says:

    Chet, Even though we have gone our seperate ways. I do have some wonderful memories with your family. Recognizing how important your family is to you and wanting to share in all the wonderful things that the future has, like grandchildren will keep you going on your diet. I know that being with my grandchildren and sharing in the everyday lives of them as well as my children is a blessing and I wish you the same! You can do it! Congratulations to Nicki.

Leave a Reply

